top of page

An Introvert's Journey to Networking: Finding a Professional Organization

Networking. Every time I hear this word, I get an uneasy feeling in my stomach. If you could not tell already, I am an introvert. Whenever I am presented with the opportunity to attend a social event, I hesitate to say “Yes.” Or I make an excuse, using the good ‘ole “I am on duty tonight and cannot go off campus.” Yep, guilty. But I realized that if I am to transform my passion into practice, I need to be a part of something bigger. In doing so, one of two things will happen: either the people I meet will make a difference in my life, or I will make a difference in theirs. Or both. That is the beauty of building relationships with others. It starts with a conversation, then turns into a connection of shared values, beliefs, ideas...okay, maybe this networking thing does not sound too bad after all.

I made the choice to challenge my inner-introvert, and recently joined two professional organizations: NASPA and CSPA-NYS. Given my passion for students with disabilities in higher education, the third organization I listed below is a possible third.

NASPA - Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education (formerly National Association of Student Personnel Administrators)

I was on the fence for a while whether or not I should join NASPA or ACPA. I asked my colleagues, researched each organization’s website, and I still sometimes wonder whether I should have chosen one over the other. But so far, I have been pleased with what NASPA has offered me as a Graduate Student Member.

As with most professional organizations, I will receive discounted registration on all NASPA events and conferences. I plan on attending the Annual Conference in Texas next Spring, and hopefully Beyond the Blind Side will make its debut. Presenting at a national conference has been a goal of mine since starting graduate school--I could settle for state-level conference, too. I will also have access to other professional development opportunities including online webinars. To make the most of my membership as a student, I chose the “Master’s Graduate Student Affiliate Upgrade” option. I love learning, and want to develop the habit of continuing my education beyond the classroom, so this membership was worth the investment. Additional benefits include: a subscription to their quarterly magazine, access to online learning modules, and other free or discounted publications.

Another area of this organization where I have found an opportunity to get involved is through their Knowledge Communities--specifically their Region II Disability Knowledge Community. I scheduled a conference call with the current chair and shared my interest for disability in higher education with her. We agreed that I will serve as the Graduate Student Liaison, where I will frequently share related articles to other community members, and help develop webinars with the chair. This position allows me to be involved at the national level, while still being able to manage my current responsibilities as a student.

As NASPA focuses on professional development, advocacy and research, I believe this membership will further my competency in the following areas: Assessment, Evaluation, and Research (AER), Social Justice and Inclusion (SJI), and Leadership (LEAD).

CSPA-NYS - The College Student Personnel Association of New York State

At the beginning of the semester, I decided to attend a “Higher Ed Happy Hour” networking event sponsored by this organization. Big, big step outside of my comfort zone. Thank goodness I had colleagues who refused to let me go back to my apartment to hide, since they were going after our class that same night. I ended up enjoying it, especially meeting fellow grad students and other professionals in the area. After that night, I decided to join as a Student Member.

Although I am starting to get involved in the profession at the national level, I believe finding connections locally will be just as beneficial, and more accessible for the time being. I love the variety of events that CSPA-NYS offers, such as Coffee Talks, On the Road, Higher Ed Happy Hour, and other conferences. There are also opportunities for mentoring, research, applying for scholarships/grants, and advocacy.

If presenting at NASPA is not a possibility, being a member with CSPA-NYS allows me to submit a proposal to present at their Annual Conference--which happens to be in Buffalo next Fall. Aside from presenting, another goal I have as a professional is to publish Beyond the Blind Side. I hope to find the right people and resources within this organization to help me reach this goal. If I decide to stay in New York upon graduating, I would like to become more involved with CSPA-NYS, either by joining a committee or even apply for an executive board position.

I consider their their philosophy of “Learn. Network. Lead” as a formula that I want to follow to become an influential and innovative student affairs educator. I believe this membership will further my competency in the following areas: Personal and Ethical Foundations (PPF) and Leadership (LEAD).

AHEAD - Association on Higher Education and Disability

My passion for student with disabilities is clearly evident, but I am not limiting myself to this functional area as I approach job searching next year. Eventually I would like to become a Director for Disability Services, or working in a related position. But regardless of my title, I want my mission as a professional to redefine the concept of disability in order to make a higher education more accessible for students within this population.

A student membership is designated for individuals interested in learning more about, and engaging with, professional work that would enhance postsecondary opportunities and access for persons with disabilities. For now, this would be a better option until I have a clearer direction of what position I wish to pursue upon graduating. Benefits include: access to discussion lists, web resources, online full-text versions of the Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, discounts on workshops, institutes and conferences, and access to their employment exchange database for online job postings.

Similar to NASPA’s Knowledge Communities, AHEAD has Special Interest Groups (SIGS) which are members organized around a particular topic related to disability in higher education. Members can hold discussion forums, share information, and organize professional development opportunities. Based on my personal and professional interests, I would consider joining the Disability Studies, ADA Coordinators, Graduate/Professional Students, and Career Planning/Placement SIGS. I might even contact the AHEAD office to inquire about creating a SIG related to Student Development Theories and Disability.

I believe this membership will further my competency in the following areas: Social Justice and Inclusion (SJI), Advising and Supporting (A/S), and Personal and Ethical Foundations (PPF)

“Networking is not collecting contacts. Networking is about planting relations. Surround yourself with the dreamers and the doers, the believers and thinkers. But most of all, surround yourself with those who see greatness within you.” - Author Unknown


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page